Course Reflections

WHAT HAVE I LEARNED?

This has been an informative semester for me. I took EDTECH 541 and 502 concurrently; they were my first two EDTECH classes, and make up 2/3 of my requirements for an educational technology certificate. Having earned an undergraduate degree in technical communications in 2004, and as a digital nativist in my own time, I had been introduced to many elements of education-related technology already. However, I soon found that there was quite a bit left to discover!

Obviously, the various tools and resources that I experienced this semester are very valuable. While I was aware, obviously, of eBooks and videos (for example), I had never felt the impetus to create them myself. This course pushed me to do so, and showed me how I could do so easily and to good effect in my professional practices.

HOW HAVE I GROWN PROFESSIONALLY? HOW HAVE MY TEACHING PRACTICES/PHILOSOPHY BEEN IMPACTED?

As a result of these classes, I also found myself thinking more deeply about my own teaching philosophy – both as it does, and does not, relate to educational technology. My personal understanding of the educational system at large as well as my own philosophy of education have been deepened and expanded as I completed this course. I have given much more thought to making education relevant to a wide variety of students, using digital tools where appropriate, and to the current trends in school organization and curriculum.

Additionally, I have expanded my repertoire of digital tools, and am looking forward to putting some of them to use next year when I begin teaching a creative writing/online publications class that I proposed and created while taking EDTECH 541.

HOW HAS THEORY GUIDED DEVELOPMENT OF MY PROJECTS?

Hopefully, anything a professional educator creates is based upon good theory and practice. In creating my projects and activities this semester, I leaned upon my understanding of educational theories including Vygotsky and Gardner. I found that the resources available through the ISTE were extremely helpful and interesting, and gave me excellent ground to stand upon while proposing my upcoming course.

Explore posts in the same categories: Assignment

Leave a Reply

